Even attorneys hire other lawyers to represent them when they need help with a divorce or other legal situation. I became an attorney because I. A grandparent shall be entitled to notice and shall be granted an opportunity to be heard in any child custody proceeding involving a grandchild who is twelve 12 months of age or younger when: a A grandchild resides with this grandparent for at least six 6 continuous months prior to the grandchild's first birthday; b The grandparent was the primary caregiver for and financial supporter of the grandchild during the time the grandchild resided with the grandparent; and c The continuous custody occurred within one 1 year of the date the child custody proceeding was initiated. Of course, both parents can actually come to an agreement on the amount of child support. Laura is also a licensed Realtor with Keller Williams Market Pro Realty in Fayetteville. For example, the temporary order may require that the children live in the same home and attend the same school as when their parents were living together.
A grandparent of a child may petition the court to request continuing contact with the child. Look for a divorce attorney whose experience matches your needs. The proceedings shall be in the county where the complainant resides unless the complainant is a nonresident of the State of Arkansas and the defendant is a resident of the state, in which case the proceedings shall be in the county where the defendant resides, and, in any event, the process may be directed to any county in the state. Meyer, DivorcedMoms provides a comprehensive Resource Center covering the full range of issues relating to divorce, including state by. Get detailed information how the amount of alimony is determined, see. A mediator, is an independent third party experienced in negotiating divorce settlements, and can help you and your spouse reach an agreement. Alimony payments may be ordered to be paid through the registry of the court.
After your complaint is filed, the court clerk will issue a summons. The Marital Home In Arkansas, as in many jurisdictions, the equity in the marital home is often one of the biggest assets the spouses divide. Child Custody: When minor children are involved in a divorce, the Arkansas courts will do everything possible to help lessen the emotional trauma the children may be experiencing. If both parties are open to alternative dispute resolution, such as arbitration or mediation, finding a lawyer experienced in collaborative divorce or divorce mediation would be beneficial. Our legal team has extensive experience in handling cases of divorce and is fully prepared to work hard in order to get you the best possible results. Courts generally accept the value when the spouses mutually agree on a value of a particular asset.
The state of Arkansas has unique divorce laws for people who wish to terminate their marriage. It includes a demand letter, motion for contempt, and an order to show cause for use in cases where the opposing party is not following a court order. The judge will evaluate all of the evidence, make decisions about the facts in the case, and ultimately issue a decision that specifies how all of the issues in the case will be resolved. Primary Documents: Complaint for Divorce and the Decree of Divorce. Our legal teams will work to find the best solutions, and keep you updated every step of the way to help you make informed decisions. After spending many years in management roles, he decided to do what he had always planned to do as a child and go back to school to become an attorney. The person who files the complaint asking for the divorce is the plaintiff.
This information is general in nature. This spouse plays a lesser role in an uncontested divorce versus a contested divorce. I am equally experienced in Real Estate Law, Probate Law and Family Law. In that case, the divorce should be filed in the county where the defendant non-filing spouse resides. Consider legally separating from your spouse. A witness may be necessary to confirm the grounds, and testify that the party has lived in Arkansas for at least 60 days before filing.
Caroline Lewis joined The Brad Hendricks Law Firm in 2009, and has served as its Managing Bankruptcy Attorney since 2013. You should ask the court clerk for the specific amount of the filing fee as it varies by county. Before making any legal decisions we encourage you to consult with a local attorney…do not make decisions based on general state divorce law. Unless otherwise ordered by the court or agreed to by the parties, the liability for alimony shall automatically cease upon the earlier of: A The date of the remarriage of the person who was awarded the alimony; or B The establishment of a relationship that produces a child or children and results in a court order directing another person to pay support to the recipient of alimony, which circumstances shall be considered the equivalent of remarriage; or C The establishment of a relationship that produces a child or children and results in a court order directing the recipient of alimony to provide support of another person who is not a descendant by birth or adoption of the payer of the alimony, which circumstances shall be considered the equivalent of remarriage. Equitable does not mean equal, or even half, but rather what the Chancery Court considers fair.
Problems that were unfortunately unfixable. Scott takes a lot of satisfaction in helping people when they are. Beth Crawford is a graduate of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock William H. We cannot guarantee the accuracy of information posted on these sites. Spousal support, whether permanent or temporary, is typically decided on a case-by-case basis, because it is very likely that unique circumstances and factors regarding the marriage and the property award will play a significant role in allowing the court to arrive at the appropriate amount. Under Arkansas law, your or your spouse must have been a resident of the state for at least 60 days before filing for divorce or separation.
If you don't call we can't help. Originally from Gurdon, Arkansas, Caroline obtained her Bachelor of Arts degree in Russian and Political Science from Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia, Arkansas in 1996. But in the event that they cannot agree, the court will decide based on the Formula. Once you receive the Summons from the court, you must provide your spouse with a copy of the Summons and Complaint; this is known as serving the other party. Thomson is committed to providing highly skilled, aggressive legal representation for a fair and reasonable cost. They grew to the point that they were major problems.
Since Arkansas is an equitable distribution state, all marital property will be divided in a fair fashion according to the court unless agreed to otherwise by the divorcing spouses. Arkansas Code - Title 9 - Chapters: 12-315 Changing Name: In all cases when the court finds that either party is entitled to a divorce, the court may restore the wife to the name which she bore previous to the marriage dissolved. However, if the plaintiff is a non-resident of Arkansas, the divorce may be filed in the county where the defendant resides. I possess extensive experience in the field in oil and gas matters. Easy and convenient - complete at your own pace online.
If a person wishes to terminate his or her marriage, he or she may file for a divorce. A local divorce attorney is your best source for how divorce is treated in your jurisdiction. There are additional requirements if the marriage was a covenant marriage. Child support is to be paid through the Arkansas child support clearinghouse. Violation of this notice will result in immediate legal action. Familiarize yourself with the following information before you file for divorce in Arkansas. You can also review the form for the basic layout of a divorce complaint.