For instance, in some situations drivers may be mandated by a state court to enroll in an alcohol education and treatment program, while in less severe cases this may not be mandatory. Note: Commercial drivers cannot apply for a hardship license in Colorado. Many judges want to give an incentive to complete the sentencing requirements so they allow you to petition the judge write them a letter upon completion of all your requirements. If your test result is. Useful Public Service: Also known as Community Service. Probation: While on a second offense the Judge is required under the statute to place you on probation for 24 months.
The court does have the discretion to impose a large fine amount if it is determined to be necessary. Nearly 30 percent of the cases reviewed resulted in a prison sentence. The legislation, passed by lawmakers earlier this year, requires felony drunken drivers to serve 90 to 180 days in jail if a judge decides to give them probation. The has recognized, however, that drunk and drugged driving are significant threats to public safety. While Judges often order this as part of probation, even if the Judge does not order this as part of your sentence, your Probation Officer can and often will institute it for you.
If you fail to complete court-ordered classes or therapy, the judge can reinstate your jail sentence. The length of time depends on the type and number of violations. If their clients plead guilty, these attorneys often convince courts to substitute lenient penalties for some time in jail. The judge can also order that you attend a. If you desire to move forward and establish a relationship with one of our affiliated experts, you do so at your own risk. For second and subsequent convictions, the defendant is placed on probation for at least two years.
He loves telling stories about Colorado's mountain towns and the Eastern Plains and wants to make sure our newspaper's great work extends into their communities. I had an emergency legal case come up and Colorado Legal Defense Group looked like they had a specialty in this area. Please call us if you would like a free consultation regarding your Colorado drunk driving case. Early Termination of Probation: Many people ask about this. It is a one time event where you go and listen to victims of drunk drivers tell you of the devastation they suffered because of a drunk driver. We may be able to get your charges reduced or even dismissed altogether.
This is statutory and requires the Judge to enter the number of hours usually from 48 to 120. So the week's worth of communication ended up being gratis. Keep in mind; these penalties are separate from those you might face from the court. The daily fatality rate related to accidents caused by drunk drivers is staggering. In order to have the lowest amount of impact on your driving rights, it is important to fight this suspension as soon as possible. If you submitted to a blood test then it will be a month or more before you know the result. If you aren't required to attend an arraignment before custody release, do expect one to be scheduled at a later date.
This law firm makes no guarantee as to the outcome of any case. What was your alcohol best level? The only way to challenge Administrative penalties is to request an alcohol hearing. While Judges often order this as part of probation, even if the Judge does not order this as part of your sentence, your Probation Officer can and often will institute it for you. The offender is also required to submit to alcohol monitoring and two more years of probation can be imposed for additional monitoring. Sentencing alternatives a judge may order in Colorado include in-home detention, electronic home monitoring, work release, day reporting, or weekend work programs. It is easy to see that drinking and driving is not worth any cost.
Second Offense carries with it a statutory minimum mandatory jail sentence of ten 10 days. An officer will ask you to roll down the window. And if necessary, we will champion your case all the way to trial. And there are certain situations in which jail is mandatory — even for first time offenders. If you refused or did not successful complete any part of the chemical testing your license will be suspended for 1-year and you will not be eligible to apply for a restricted license anytime during the 1-year period. This is completely free and there is no obligation.
Colorado uses sobriety checkpoints to catch intoxicated drivers and a program to help eliminate refusal of blood-alcohol concentration testing. It is up to the individual judge whether that judge is inclined to terminate early someone on 24 month probation for a second offense. Also, a Court could use a prior conviction from a variety of offenses to aggravate your case. The prosecution shall set forth such prior convictions in the indictment or information. These lawyers devote many hours to putting together a strong defense that stands up to accusations made by the prosecution.
Colorado Legal Defense Group 5 Lawyers are supposed to have a bad name, but the Colorado Legal Defense Group exhibited service, insights, and class that should make anyone feel very confident in calling upon their aid. Sobriety and Support Among Our Community and to Help Those, Especially in our Sober Living Homes, Share Our Milestones in Long Term Recovery! Basically, the arresting officer will present his or her evidence including your test results and your attorney will represent you. While in-home detention or electronic home monitoring is an option for this minimum sentence, a judge does not have to grant this and could put an offender in the county jail for up to one year. By reviewing the information on this site, there is no formation of an attorney-client relationship. Look for 70% or higher. Different states use different names of offenses and they could count against you.
However, an offender can apply for a after one month of the revocation period has passed. So, depending on who your Judge is and who your prosecutors are, you may get a longer jail sentence and may also get an In Home Detention sentence tacked on after you serve the active jail sentence. Chemical Tests While field sobriety tests help law enforcement officers during the initial evaluation phase, chemical tests provide measurable data. We do not endorse or recommend any particular attorney or legal service and make no representation, guarantee or warranty express or implied as to the legal ability, competence, quality, or reliability of any legal services provided by any of the attorneys or lawyer services. In addition to the possibility of jail, it is very common to receive probation on a first offense.